back to
We’ve updated our Terms of Use to reflect our new entity name and address. You can review the changes here.
We’ve updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Man Is A Monster

by The Funk Ark

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $9.99 USD  or more


  • Compact Disc
    Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    4 panel digipak

    Includes unlimited streaming of Man Is A Monster via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

    Sold Out

Mind Meld 04:50
Fugue State 05:20
Headband 05:46
Doom Buggy 04:06
Tam Tari Ta 05:29


"Man is a Monster is a collection of songs from a period of two years
during which I traveled more than I ever had before, spending time in
countries, most of which, I had never visited. The songs were conceived
in that spirit of exploration, in a global sense, but also of our musical
and technical abilities. This album's eclectic sound is an indication of the
many inuences and experiences of the group, as well as our intent to
take the emphasis away from traditional 4/4 rhythms and channel those
inuences into something deeper and more challenging than our
previous work." - Will Rast


released October 14, 2014

The Funk Ark - Man Is A Monster

Produced by Greg Loman and Will Rast
Engineered by Adrian Olsen
Mixed by J.D. Foster
Mastered by Steve Wright

All tracks written by Will Rast, except for "Fugue State pt. 2" (Rast, Loman)

All tracks recorded at Montrose Recording, Richmond, VA

Keyboards, Guitars, Drumkit - Will Rast
Lead Guitar - Greg Loman
Rhythm Guitar - Wayan Zoey
Trumpet - Joe Herrera
Baritone Saxophone, Flute - Matt Rippetoe
Tenor Saxophone, Flute - Michael Kammers
Bass Guitar - TJ Turqman
Congas - Josh Kay
Drumkit - Graham Doby
Drumkit, Percussion, Shakers - John Speice

Album art by Steve Loya & JJ Cromer
CD cover design by O'Neill Cushman
Photographs by Eve Spielberg, Samantha Fien-Helfman, and Andrew Markowitz

Management: Nick Velleman -
Licensing/Publishing: Catherine Steinmann, Carthage Music Ltd. -

Special Thanks: Louis Marks and everyone at Ropeadope, Nick Velleman, Alex O'Flinn, Adam Rast, Ben Winburn, Michael Kammers, Wayan Zoey, John Speice, Lee Durham, Flex Mathews, Ben Tufts, Etu Dieng, Chris Naoum, Steve Loya, JJ Cromer, Jennifer Addison, O'Neill Cushman, Samantha Fien-Helfman, Eve Spielberg, Aaron Geller, Arthur Bloom, Chase Turner, Miles Ryan and 7 Drum Lessons, The Purple Fiddle, Giovanni Russonello, Tim Walther and All Good Presents, Grey Area Productions, Paris DJs, Brownout, Orgone, Antibalas, Thievery Corporation, and to all of our families.



all rights reserved



The Funk Ark Washington, D.C.

contact / help

Contact The Funk Ark

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like The Funk Ark, you may also like: